New Jersey Joyriding Lawyer
Joyriding in New Jersey means taking someone’s motor vehicle with the intention of returning it. Despite those good intentions, joyriding is a crime in New Jersey and can result in spending up to 18 months in prison and paying fines of up to $7,500.
If you or your child has been charged with a joyriding offense, contact an experienced New Jersey joyriding lawyer to discuss the charges. Let a qualified defense attorney help you determine what legal defenses may apply so that you can make an informed decision that makes sense for you and your family.How Does New Jersey Define Joyriding?
According to New Jersey Statutes Code Sec. 2C:20-10 et. seq., someone can be found guilty of joyriding when they take, operate, or exercise control over a motor vehicle without the consent of the owner (or other person authorized to give consent) with the purpose of temporarily withholding use from the owner.
From a legal standpoint, the difference between joyriding and car theft is intent. Joyriders intend on bringing the vehicle back, car thieves do not.Potential Consequences
In most situations, New Jersey joyriding is classified as a fourth-degree crime with can result in serving up to 18 months in prison and paying fines of up to $7,500 fine.
However, New Jersey joyriders who drive recklessly, damage property, injure others or endanger other people can be charged with a third-degree crime which can result in serving up to five years in prison and paying a fine of up to $7,500. A skilled New Jersey joyriding lawyer can attempt to mitigate penalties an individual may face.Consequences For Passengers
Passengers who accompany a joyrider can also be charged with joyriding – even if they did not actually take or drive the vehicle. Simply being a passenger in a car used to joyride can result in the charge.
Passengers can also be held liable for any damages done to the vehicle, property, or others which results from the joyriding. In addition, New Jersey law can hold parents accountable for their child’s actions if it can be determined that they failed to provide adequate supervision.Juveniles and Joyriding
Joyriding in New Jersey can lead to a whole lot of trouble – especially for juveniles whose intentions may not have been evil, just not smart.
This can lead to even more trouble when other crimes are committed while joyriding, and juveniles may require the assistance of a New Jersey joyriding attorney.Penalties for Juveniles Caught Joyriding
New Jersey juveniles may face a minimum of 30 days community service and other significant mandatory penalties when mixing joyriding and criminal activity, including:
- Aggravated Assault: The law imposes a minimum of 60 days’ incarceration for any juvenile also convicted of aggravated assault as a result of stealing a motor vehicle, joyriding, or eluding police
- Repeat Offenders: The law imposes a minimum of 30 days for repeat offenders guilty of stealing a motor vehicle, joyriding, or eluding police
- First offenses: The law imposes a minimum of 60 days of mandatory community service for first offense of stealing a motor vehicle, joyriding, or eluding police
Joyriding can have serious consequences – especially for juveniles who are typically charged with these types of offenses. If you or your child is facing joyriding charges, contact a New Jersey joyriding lawyer today.
Do not let a temporary lapse in judgment ruin the rest of your life. Make sure you have experienced counsel on your side to protect your rights and your future.