How Much Marijuana Can I Possess in New Jersey?
Many New Jersey residents who use marijuana, including medical marijuana patients, often wonder how much marijuana they can legally possess. Knowing the answer to these and other marijuana-related questions could help you avoid misunderstandings with the police or other state authorities.
If you have ever asked yourself, “How much marijuana can I possess in New Jersey?” you may benefit from learning about local marijuana laws. Different laws may govern how and where you may use marijuana, and in what quantities.
If you need assistance understanding these laws or have other legal questions related to the use or possession of marijuana, you may wish to call an experienced drug lawyer in New Jersey. Such lawyers are knowledgeable about local drug laws and may be able to provide you with the legal resources you need.Rules on Possession of Medical Marijuana
To possess medical marijuana legally, an individual must first be registered as a qualifying patient with the New Jersey Department of Health, according to New Jersey Revised Statutes §24:6I-4. They must also have a medical marijuana registry identification card.
The amount of medical marijuana a patient may legally possess may vary depending on their health conditions and their doctor’s recommendations. However, a patient may obtain a maximum of two ounces of medical marijuana within a 30-day period, according to N.J.R.S. §24:6I-10.
Therefore, the maximum amount of marijuana an individual may possess in New Jersey is two ounces at any one time. Each 30-day supply must be authorized by the patient’s physician via a set of written instructions, according to N.J.R.S. §24:6I-10.Ninety-Day Authorizations
Under certain circumstances, a patient may receive instructions authorizing a 90-day supply of medical marijuana, as per N.J.R.S. §24:6I-10. To do so, the patient must have multiple written instructions from their physician, since each written instruction is valid for only a 30-day period. Additionally, the patient must satisfy the following conditions:
- Each set of written instructions is for a “legitimate medical purpose”
- Each set of instructions indicates the earliest date on which the patient may receive the medical marijuana
- Their physician has determined that obtaining a 90-day supply does not create an undue risk of abuse
Although a patient may legally possess up to two ounces of medical marijuana in New Jersey, additional laws exist regulating their use of that marijuana. For example, individuals may not operate a vehicle while under the influence of medical marijuana, according to N.J.R.S. §24:6I-8. Additionally, they may not smoke marijuana on a school bus or any other form of public transportation.
N.J.R.S. §24:6I-8 also forbids smoking medical marijuana in the following places:
- Public beaches or parks
- Recreation centers
- Any other place where smoking is generally prohibited
For example, New Jersey forbids smoking of any kind in places of public accommodation under N.J.R.S. §2C:33-13, which may include various restaurants, hotels, and the like. As a result, smoking medical marijuana in these locations would likewise be illegal.Being Aware of How Much Marijuana You Can Legally Possess in New Jersey
If you are a legally authorized marijuana user, you may have difficulties keeping up with local marijuana laws. You may be wondering how much marijuana you can possess in New Jersey, how you can transport it legally, and where you can use it. For the answers to these and other questions, you may need to research marijuana laws in New Jersey to make sure you are on the right side of the law.
However, if you have more detailed questions or a specific legal issue for which you need advice, do not hesitate to contact a qualified, local marijuana lawyer. An attorney may be able to review your specific issue and advise you on how you can keep your marijuana use legal.