Unlawful Marijuana Sales in Somerset County
While the laws throughout the country are changing with respect to marijuana, currently you can still be charged with and convicted of a crime if you sell marijuana in Somerset County. Criminal charges related to unlawful marijuana sales in Somerset County can have a serious impact on your life, resulting in possible prison time and fines.
If you were charged with unlawfully selling marijuana in Somerset County, you may benefit from contacting a dedicated lawyer who could help you structure your defense. Experienced medical marijuana attorneys understand that your freedom is at stake in such situations and could apply their experience, knowledge, and skill to help protect your best interests.Types of Drug Offenses in Somerset County
A drug charge can range from a minor simple possession to a more serious charge such as manufacturing or distributing narcotics. Possession charges depend on the type of drug, and the amount. For example, for possessing less than fifty grams of marijuana a person can face a disorderly persons offense under New Jersey Revised Statutes §2C:35-10A(4).
Furthermore, N.J.R.S. 2C:35-5(a) provides that it is unlawful for a person to knowingly or purposefully manufacture, distribute, or dispense a controlled substance. A person charged with a manufacturing offense can be charged with either a first, second, third, or fourth-degree crime depending on the type and quantity of the substance.
Finally, a person may also be charged with possessing certain drug-related items such as hypodermic needles, pipes, and grow lights under N.J.R.S. 2C:36-2.Unlawful Sale of Marijuana in Somerset County
While New Jersey has allowed for the possession and use of medical marijuana under New Jersey’s Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act, selling marijuana outside of an authorized Alternative Treatment Center is still a criminal offense. A person who is charged with unlawful marijuana sales in Somerset County may face the following charges:
- A fourth-degree offense for a quantity of less than one ounce
- A third-degree offense for more than one ounce but less than five pounds
- A second-degree offense for a quantity of more than five pounds but less than 25 pounds
- A first-degree offense for a quantity over 25 pounds
The fines and penalties for these crimes range from 18 months in prison for fourth-degree crimes to 20 years for a first-degree offense, as well as an associated fine ranging from $10,000 to $300,000. Third-degree offenses can be punished by a fine of up to $15,000—and in some cases $35,000 for certain drug-related offenses—and a prison term of up to five years, while second-degree offenses can result in fines up to $150,000 and a prison term of between five and 10 years.What to do After Being Charged with Unlawful Marijuana Sales in Somerset County
If you were charged with the unlawful sale of marijuana in Somerset County, it may be important for you to contact a Somerset County criminal defense lawyer. If convicted on such charges, you could face thousands of dollars in fines and years in jail, so call today to find out what an aggressive attorney could do to protect your rights and your freedom.